5 Things I Want You to Know About ADHD

This is why I’m bouncing off the walls like a jackrabbit.

Chris Wojcik
5 min readOct 16, 2021
Photo by Dan Barrett on Unsplash

Growing up, I always had a lot of energy.

Even as a baby, I used to stand in my crib every morning, hanging off the edge screaming, “Outside! Outside! Outside!” to my poor mother.

I was like a dog who needed to be let out for his morning playtime. The only difference between me and a pup? I’m 24, and I still have the same amount of energy.

As a kid, having a lot of energy is cute. As an adult, it’s just not. If you’re bouncing off the walls and you’re 24, people look at you differently. People think you’re weird.

People think you’re crazy.

I have ADHD, and these are the 5 things I want you to know about it.

Yes, I do like “shiny” things.

As an ADHDer, social media is the bane of my existence. I just get too addicted.

Even after turning off all of the notifications on my phone, I can’t help but be distracted by every single thing that I notice when I open Instagram, Twitter, or Facebook. The second I get a new notification, I check it immediately, and then I forget to respond to the text or comment because I’m already distracted by the next “shiny thing” that…

--

--